Turtles

This week, I started to read Cross-Train Your Brain: A Mental Fitness Program for Maximizing Creativity and Achieving Success. The book is intended to bring together tools to help improve creativity, mental agility and well-being. Although I’ve finished three chapters, it’s been more introductory than content-oriented so I look forward to getting further into the book to form an opinion. In the book Social Intelligence, I read chapters 8-9.  With 501 Challenging Logic Reasoning Problems, I completed sets 30-32, having now finished 463 problems with 452 correct. Not too much longer and I’ll be done with the book and can move on to other puzzle-oriented studies. With the completion of chapters 18-20 in Reasoning Skills Success, I can finally put the book away for good. It just wasn’t my cup of tea, although other people might enjoy it.

As was my intention, I made good progress with math studies on the Khan Academy site, although there have been a couple exercises that have proven to be a challenge. For some reason, my brain is not wanting to process how to use data from a table and the equation y = mx + b to calculate slope-intercept while solving for x and y. I will get through this and I will be happy when I do.

In Learn Python the Hard Way, I finished lessons 10-13 and reinforced by using Quizlet. There’s a MIT open courseware class I found called Introduction to CS & Programming. As it’s described, the course “aims to provide students with an understanding of the role computation can play in solving problems. It also aims to help students…feel justifiably confident of their ability to write small programs that allow them to accomplish useful goals.” It all sounds good so I thought to give it a try. Thus far, I’ve completed a recitation and three of the lectures.

This week, I was fortunate to attend a PyLadies Meetup which offered an intro to Git/GitHub. Thanks to the Meetup, I was able to break the ice and finally push a test page to the GitHub profile. I also learned GitHub had donated 600 private repositories on the ADA Initiative‘s GitHub account for women learning open source software. I was lucky enough to get one of the private repos. Now I just need to practice and get comfortable using it.  If time allows, this week I’ll view TeamTreehouse’s Intro to Git Basics to solidify my flimsy Git/GitHub foundation.

On a side note, Claude (my common-law father-in-law) died on Friday night. As mentioned in a previous post, he hadn’t been expected to live (although we had been hopeful). He regained consciousness after a few days in a coma but got an infection in his catheter. I’m not sure whether the infection was behind his death…. There were other contributing factors (including a misdiagnosis and mistreatment that put him into the coma). In any case, he was a tremendously good man and I’m sorry to hear of his passing. The funeral will be held 7 days following his death to allow plenty of time for friends and relatives to travel to the area. He was well-loved and will be properly honored. We’ll travel to Fort Worth again and stay a few days.

The night I learned of Claude’s passing, I was studying functions using turtles via the interactive How to Think Like a Computer Scientist. Hamfistedly, to honor him, I named the turtles ‘Claude’ that night and worked to make them extra pretty. So here are Claude, Claude and Claude:

Screen Shot 2013-09-28 at 2.55.15 PM

The above function draws n-pointed stars (I chose 15 points).  The second Claude draws a square with corner sprites also with 15 n-points:

Screen Shot 2013-09-29 at 5.48.53 PM

The third function is made by rotating squares around an axis and splicing the square into four to create an illusion of spokes radiating from the center:
Screen Shot 2013-09-29 at 5.33.50 PM

Anyway, here’s to you, Claude.

This entry was posted in Computer Languages, Daily Coding Study Plan, Python and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

