@gSchool Week 2

Studying at a programming bootcamp like gSchool offers a wide range of learning opportunities. As hard as the programming aspect has been, harder lessons come from leading with my ego. Very briefly, here are things I’m learning:

Humility: For the first time in my life, I’m not excelling or holding ground despite my efforts. It’s hard to feel prideful with a view from the bottom rung.

Resignation: Earlier this week, a classmate (at my request) was helping to review a coding problem. For a split-split second, defensiveness rose in me at the power imbalance. I had to let the feeling wash away so that I could get back to receiving the help I obviously needed and wanted….

Acceptance: Accepting that I know nothing, I can focus less on the stress of my situation and more on learning to be a good programmer.

Despite the emotional ups and downs and the physical hardship that comes from long hours of study on little sleep, I feel blessed to be where I’m at and studying with such an amazing group of people. Truly, my cohort is made up of wonderful souls, and I feel so lucky to know them and be a part of their circle.

Bonus Lesson: for anyone reading this blog who plans to attend a programming bootcamp, learn the programming jargon before arriving on Day 1. Being familiar with and distinguishing between terms such as ‘methods’, ‘classes’ and ‘instances’ will save you the headache and will make transitioning easier from layperson to programmer apprentice.

This entry was posted in Computer Languages, Ruby and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to @gSchool Week 2

  1. Shelby says:

    I plan on attending gSchool in June in Denver, and you suggest becoming familiar with the terms before day 1. Any good suggestions on where I could do that, either online or a book?

    • Hi Shelby, congratulations on getting into gSchool Denver! With regard to your question,.. Ruby may be discussed in class without the accompanying code as illustration. Familiarizing yourself with the coding terms (e.g. class, module, block, arguments) can help to visualize what’s happening without seeing actual code. Codecademy introduces the terms, though a better option might be to purchase the book ‘Programming Ruby’ (nicknamed ‘The Pickaxe’) by Dave Thomas. Good luck with your studies, and I look forward to meeting you in the coming months.

Leave a Reply

